GOVERNMENT 75

procedure, the processes in the two may not be identical, and are indeed not identical at this time. At the end of this procedure, the bill is presented to the Governor General for Royal Assent and for his signature. Depending on the provisions in the bill itself it may come into force when it is signed by the Governor General, on an appointed day, or when it is officially proclaimed.

Duration and sessions of Parliaments. The length and sessions of the first to the 12th Parliaments, covering the period from Confederation to 1917, are given in the 1940 Canada Year Book, p 46; of the 13th to the 17th Parliaments in the 1945 edition, p 53; of the 18th and 19th Parliaments in the 1957-58 edition, p 46; of the 20th to the 23rd Parliaments in the 1965 edition, p 65; and of the 24th to the 30th Parliaments in this edition, Table 3.1.

The Senate has grown from an original membership of 72 at Confederation, through the addition of members to represent new provinces and the general increase in population, to a total of 102 members; the latest change in representation was made when Newfoundland entered Confederation in 1949. The growth of representation in the Senate is summarized by province in Table 3.2.

Senators are appointed by the Governor General by instrument under the Great Seal of Canada. By constitutional usage the actual power of nominating senators resides in the Prime Minister whose advice the Governor General accepts in this regard. Until the passage of "An Act to make provision for the retirement of members of the Senate" (SC 1965, c.4), assented to on June 2, 1965, senators were appointed for life; that Act set 75 years as the age at which any person appointed to the Senate after the coming into force of the bill would cease to hold his place in the Senate.

In each of the four main areas of Canada (Ontario, Quebec, Atlantic provinces and Western provinces) except Quebec, senators represent the whole of the province for which they are appointed; in Quebec, one senator is appointed for each of the 24 electoral divisions of what was formerly Lower Canada. The deliberations of the Senate are presided over by a Speaker appointed by the Governor in Council (in effect by the government) and government

business in the Senate is sponsored by the Government Leader in the Senate.

The powers of the Senate, in all respects except one, are co-extensive with those of the House of Commons. The one exception is that under the Canadian Constitution all "money bills", i.e. bills to impose taxes or appropriate public moneys, must originate in the House of Commons. The concurrence of the Senate is necessary before any piece of legislation, public or private, can become law. Government bills, other than money bills, may be introduced in either House. A substantial percentage of these are now introduced in the Senate where they may be freely discussed and amended and the House of Commons thus given the benefit of their prior scrutiny by the Senate.

The Senate also retains its traditional role in respect of legislation originating in the House of Commons, namely, to take a "sober second look" at such legislation and amend it if necessary; such amendments are often concurred in by the House of Commons. If representatives of the two Houses cannot resolve disagreements arising from Senate amendments, the legislation cannot be further considered.

The Senate provides a national forum for the discussion of public issues and the airing of grievances from any part of Canada. Through its own committees and its participation in joint committees of both Houses the Senate is particularly active in making studies in depth on

matters of public concern.

As at December 31, 1974 the following were members of the Senate:

Speaker, Hon. Renaude Lapointe

Leader of the Government, Hon. Raymond J. Perrault

Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Jacques Flynn

Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments, Robert Fortier

Newfoundland Michael G. Basha

Eric Cook Chesley William Carter

James Duggan

William John Petten

Frederick William Rowe

Prince Edward Island Florence Elsie Inman Orville Howard Phillips M. Lorne Bonnell I vacancy